A heartfelt note

Today was one of those days you want to forget. A day that you put behind because there is nothing else to do with it. Nothing really terrible happened, but everyone was out of sorts. Everyone was complaining. No one wanted to do there work, clean up after themselves or cooperate with one another.

Ramona started out the day by complaining that her new shirts I just bought and altered -to make them more comfortable to her skin- were not satisfactory. I bought six long sleeve shirts two sizes too big so I could cut the cuffs off (the tight cuffs bother her wrists- I know this sounds crazy, but you pick your battles) and roll up the sleeves. I only paid $4 for each one, so it wasn’t a big deal. I told her to get one out of the dryer and put it on. She flat out refused. I said a few things and she finally obeyed. After getting the shirt on and “letting me know” how uncomfortable it was for a few minutes or so that was it. I didn’t hear another word about how uncomfortable it was for the entire day. I told her that she was going to have to wear exactly what I told her to for an entire week. We’ll see how that one goes over in the morning. We have our homeschool co-op day in the AM and we can never seem to get ready without turmoil.

By the time it was bed, I told everyone I needed time to myself. No one was to get out of bed. I crashed on the couch for a little while (Daddy’O is at school tonight) and before long little footsteps were heard down the hall. Ramona handed me a note written out on her “E” notepad. It says, “Dear Mom Im sory you are getting upset …” It was her way of appologizing. Of course we hugged and kissed and I sent her back to bed.

Now some of you would see that as disobeying, cause I told the kids to stay in bed, but I would have crushed her little heart if I would have come down on her for getting out of bed. I just couldn’t do that. Just seeing her writing with a cute little picture of the two of us melted all my frustration away from our looong day. How sweet of her to give me something special. She really has a heart of gold!

Leave a Reply

