"Mom, what happens when you lie?"

This was the question posed as Ramona and I drove to the store the other night. She was sitting all the way in the back of the van so I could barely here her. I had to think about the question for a moment. Knowing the question was weighing on her heart and that she wanted an answer to put her heart at ease, my answer needed to be really good. No pressure right? I realized that the answer I was about to give her would have an impact on what she did in the near future. I didn’t know exactly why she was asking and I decided not to pry. I could just tell that she wanted an answer because she had some thinking to do.

Thank goodness God is always available! I shot up a quick prayer as I thought about something wise to say. Unfortunately, I have to admit, that I have first hand knowledge regarding this issue. I won’t mention how recent, but we’re talking about Ramona right? Now the answer has to be in six year old lingo. So I had to really think about what she would understand. So I began to tell her what happens when you lie. I said that after you tell a lie the Holy Spirit starts talking to your heart. You start feeling bad about what you said and He will not stop talking to your heart until you have made it right. I continued by telling her that because she had invited Jesus into her heart the Holy Spirit lives inside of her and tells her what is right and wrong. I talked a little more and then asked her if that answered her question. She said yes. I left it at that and we went about our business.

Fast forward to the next evening. We had been out as a family and got home around 9 PM. I was trying to get the kids in bed quickly when I stepped into the bathroom for a moment. Following right behind me was Ramona who started closing the laundry door so she could close the bathroom door. I just watched as she closed and locked the bathroom door. Then she walked over to an empty laundry basket and sat down in it.

She looked up at me and said, “I kinda got myself in trouble at HIGH day (our homeschool co-op) yesterday. Not the kind of trouble that you spank me or put me in a time out for. But trouble. I brought my mouse and cheese (the toy ones she bought from 3-D Master) in a box and someone saw it. She saw its tail sticking out of the box and asked if it was a real mouse. I told her it was a real mouse. Then some other kids came over and were saying, “that’s not a real mouse,” so I told them that it was a real mouse. What am I going to do?” She was so confused. She knew that it needed to be fixed, but she really didn’t know what to do about it.

She looked up at me with this lost puppy dog look on her face. She just wanted me to wrap her up in my arms and tell her that it was going to be O.K. So, that is exactly what I did. It took so much for me not to laugh. It was all really funny, but I pulled her up on my lap as I sat on the lid of the toilet. She sat there with big ears waiting for what I was about to say. I knew that the words that were about to come out of my mouth were going to have an impact. This was one of those few precious moments where I had the full attention of my daughter. I don’t remember exactly the words I used, but I know God was feeding me the right words to tell one of His precious daughters. I began to talk about how the Holy Spirit had been working in her heart. She smiled. I told her that she needed to confess her sins and then make it right with her friends. I asked her if she remembered who they were and she said, “I remembered all the way from HIGH day to today.” Interpretation-“Duh!”

We talked some more and I prayed with her. I thanked God for talking to her heart and asked Him to make her strong and brave to tell her friends the truth.

It was a beautiful moment. Being able to see how God is changing her heart and teaching her lessons that she will build her life on, is a precious gift to me. Praise God.

Leave a Reply

