The Hand of God

Dueteronomy 6:7-9 says, “Teach these commandments to your children and talk about them when you are at home or out for a walk; at bedtime and the first thing in the morning. Tie them on your finger, wear them on your forehead and write them on the doorposts of your house.”
This blog is one way for me to “write them on the doorposts of your house.” Blogging is, in a way, my doorpost. I am writing these things down for all to see. I have another avenue in which to share how God is protecting and caring for our family. So here is one more example of how God, in a tiny almost unnoticeable way, protected one of His precious children.
The kids were able to swim at the hotel we stayed in the other night. I had CutieP’tootie in his life vest just to be safe. It is the kind, as you can see from the picture, with the head floaty thingy. Anyway, we were walking around the pool when he got a little in front of me and started running. Well you can imagine what happened next, he slipped and fell. His legs went completely up in the air. Almost like a cartoon character. His feet went up and his body hung in the air for just a moment and then fell hard, flat on his back, with his head following hard. As I watched him, seemingly in slow motion, reaching out in vain to catch him before his head hit the cement, something happened. As his head was going down, the life vest head support hit the cement and wobbled. It bent under him leaving his head as vulnerable as a ripe watermelon in July. Then all of a sudden the head rest popped out right in time to cushion his precious head from hitting the cement. He lay half in shock as I wisked him up. I could tell that the impact had scared and hurt his entire body. Praise be to God, because that day God chose to spare him grave injury if only to show our family, and now you, His hand in the small things.
Later as I was on the phone relaying the story to my Mom, I commented on how it seemed that the hand of God slid under the life vest and flipped it out. When I hung up the phone Master Chef said, “Its amazing how many things God does and we don’t even notice.” Ahh, yes! We don’t even notice. I hope that we notice. I hope that I am able to point everything back to God as I teach my kids. Hopefully this small incident will resonate in the heart of my ten year old and help him see the hand of God in everything.
One Response

  1. Neat story. Glad he’s ok.

Leave a Reply

