Telling Conversations

When your child comes to you with questions I’m sure you are, as I normally am, enthusiastic about their desire to acquire more knowledge. However, some questions posed are in pursuit of knowledge needed to assess a situation before giving more details. A necessary assessment in deciding whether the flight instinct or heartfelt emotions need to be engaged. You decide for yourself what kind of knowledge my ten-year-old son was acquiring.

Him: “Mom, how much was that lamp?”

Now I wasn’t born yesterday, but I thought before jumping to conclusions I should act calmly and ask?

Me: “Which lamp?”

Him: “The paper one above the table.”

Knowing there was a reason he was asking but not really wanting to know the answer, I reluctantly asked…

Me: “Why?”

Him: “Well, I sorta put a hole in it with a stick.”

Me “___” Let’s just say no foul language was used, but the words that came out of my mouth were not becoming to say the least?

I walked out to the table to assess the damage to the lamp. It’s one of those Japanese paper lamps. I know, I know! Why in the world would I purchase a paper lamp with a house full of children? I’m an optimist, what can I say!

Anyway, not only did I find a hole punched in the underside of it, I found a pretzel inside of it too—don’t ask. This is just one more broken item on the lengthy list around our home. If you’re the mother of young boys you’ll understand. If not, I’m sure your home is beautiful and in one piece. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

