Meany

According to my kids (well, maybe only one kid.) I would get the worst mother award this morning. What terrible, utterly horrifying, absolutely inconsiderate thing did I do?

I gave the kids two choices for breakfast.
1. Oatmeal
2. Cereal

O.K., I’ll admit it, I created this one! I have spoiled my kids with yummy breakfasts for awhile now. I just didn’t want to make anything “special” this morning. Hey, I gave them a choice!

Well, Master C decided that he didn’t like either one. “Why did God make my taste buds to not like oatmeal or cereal?” was his moaning plea.

I haven’t been one for too much sympathy lately, so my reply was something on the lines of….brace yourself now… “Well, maybe I should serve you-what do kids in Africa get? Something gross and tasteless if anything at all????- At least you get to fill your stomach with food!” OK, OK, maybe a little too far, but give me a break!

I told him if he wasn’t going to eat breakfast to get his math out and start working. He finally decided on cereal, but ate it slowly just to make sure I knew he wasn’t enjoying it one bit.

He finished eating and did a subject or two and then we had to leave for an apt. for CP. We even stopped by a park on this most beautiful February day on the way home.

When we did arrive home, I served lunch. I made PBandJ sandwiches, which I know Master C doesn’t particularly like, but that’s what he was getting. He ate half of the sandwich along with the other items on his plate and then to my utter shock he said, “can I have a bowl of CEREAL?” Now I am sure you can imagine the look I gave him. He took one look at me and said, “don’t say it…. ‘Why in the world are you asking for cereal when you would have nothing to do with it this morning’?????!!???” Yaaaa! “You took the words right out of my mouth,” I said. We just smiled and rolled our eyes at each other. It really was kinda funny. I couldn’t believe it. What was even more funny was the fact that he knows me too well. He really did take the words right out of my mouth.

Leave a Reply

