It’s Not Your Father’s CPR

I took a class this morning to become certified in CPR and First Aid and I can’t believe how much it has changed over the years.  To be honest, I was dreading the class.  It was 6 hours loooonnnng.  But, I was greatly surprised.  The trainer was engaging and made it so much simpler than I remember.  If you haven’t taken a CPR class in awhile, it’s time to do it.  I am so glad I did.  Now, I just have to refresh my memory every once in awhile and renew it again in 2 years.  Hopefully I won’t have an opportunity to use it, but if the occasion arises, I hope that I will have enough confidence to help someone out.  It is especially necessary for my own family.  So many things can go wrong!

The trainer had such a passion for what he was doing.  He teared up a few times when he was relaying stories to us.  It was evident that this man had been deeply touched by some of the events that he had witnessed.  He is a retired fireman/paramedic, but still rides along and also trains people. He has his own first aid kit that he sells with everything you need.  I would have bought one on the spot if I’d of had $120.  The kit was made waterproof and everything was accessible at a glance.  Very impressive.  I’m sure that if I were to go out and purchase everything on the list he gave us, it would have been much more.

We also learned about the Hobo spider and I bought a cheap spider trap to see if we have any in our house.  I’ll let you know if I catch any. 

As I was listening to the trainer his Hawaiian shirt kept talking to me.  Have you seen that commercial where the guy is interviewing for a job and the stain keeps talking over the guys voice.  That is what this was like, except in this case the trainers shirt didn’t have a stain on it, it had many holes in it.  He had this gaping hole under the arm and several smaller holes scattered around.  Then I kept inspecting it from a distance and noticed that it was very faded and the collar and sleeves were fraying.  Then I kept hearing a voice saying, “buy him a shirt.”  Why would I buy him a shirt?  But, it was clear, “buy this guy a shirt.”  First I thought about going to the Goodwill cause you can find nice shirts there, but then I decided it would be much nicer to buy him a new shirt.  We finally broke for lunch and I ran over to Fred Meyers and stood in the men’s shirt section and asked the Lord which shirt He wanted me to buy.  I vacillated between several shirts and finally decided and purchased it.  We only had 1/2 hour lunch, so I had to make it back quickly.

I ate my apple and Cheezit lunch when I got back and decided to wait until after class to give him his shirt.  I had to pay him for the class, so after everyone else had left I paid him and then said, “I hope you don’t get offended, but I noticed your shirt is a bit tattered.  I can see that you have a passion for what you do and you probably don’t care too much for what your wearing.  It must be your favorite shirt or maybe its your lucky shirt.”  He said, “yeah, I have been around the world in this shirt.”  Then I said,  “During our break I felt led to buy you this shirt.”  I then handed him the bag with a shirt in it.  He took it out and thanked me and gave me a hug.  He said that he knew this morning was the last time he could probably wear the shirt. I just chuckled.  He said that it was so nice and then I left.  I have no idea why I bought the shirt other than I felt a prodding by the Holy Spirit to buy the guy a shirt.  Funny what God asks you to do sometimes! 

 

Leave a Reply

