Home School Charter Schools Are Successfuly Seductive!

I know that many of the people who read this blog are not home educators, but I think you will find something in this post anyway.  If you are educating your kids in a public school, I think you need to examine the education they are getting and evaluate it to see if it holds up with the values you hold in your family.  We, as believers, are under attack in this country.  The Enemy is alive and kicking–he is lurking in the public schools waiting for our innocent children to walk through the doors.  Please set aside some time to take a long hard look at where our kids will be in a generation if we allow them to be educated by the government.  This post is about my own temptations of the new type of charter school that is being offered here in Oregon. 

There is a new charter school in town and it caters to homeschoolers.  I attended the meetings last year, but decided that it did not fit well with my values as a home educator.  I revisited the idea this summer as I began planning how I was going to come up with the funds to pay for the resources that I felt would benefit our kids.  When I realized that I did not have the means to pay for what I wanted to purchase for my kids I thought back to those meetings.  I revisited a conversation I had with another homeschooling mom who told me that her kids were going to be a part of the charter school come fall.  She said that her kids weren’t going to attend any of the classes, but were going to benefit from the “free” money that you receive for each kid.  Wow! That sounds tempting.  I thought, Lord, is this what you want me to do??? 

I then began researching what it meant to be a part of a charter school, homescooling emphasis or not, and discovered that the government has their hand in these schools as much as a regular public school.  The “free” money does come with strings and as someone pointed out, it could take decades to see the damage that these types of programs will cause for the freedoms we as home educators have at this time. 

Mary Leggewie put it well when she wrote, years ago, about the slow process of home educators losing freedoms when they choose this type of education for their kids and why it looks deceiving at first…

 

“Phase one…”We’re here from the government, and we’re here to help you!” “You want to homeschool? Great…we’ve got a program for you.” “You can do whatever you want and we’ll give you what you need.”

Phase two…”Well, you can have our stuff, and if you want to use something else, you can buy it yourself.”

Phase three…”If you use your Christian (or Muslim/Jewish/other) stuff, you’ll have to do it outside of school hours.”

Phase four…”You know about separation of church and state, right? Well, you can’t mention God while you’re doing school.”

OK…most of us would just shine it and talk about God anyway. HOWEVER, you are breaking the law now, even if you are encouraged by your supervising teacher to do what you want to do in the “privacy” of your own home.

Phase five…”If you want to homeschool, you have to use OUR books exclusively.”

Phase six…”You need to bring your kid in to our office once a week…twice a week…etc.”

Phase seven…”Come on in for our free health check-up, immunizations and psychological evaluation, or abortion without the parents’ consent.”

Phase eight…”We’ve got a great classroom program for y’all…”

Get the drift? Sorry if I’m strong, but this subject requires being strong to protect the independent homeschooler, whether he/she may be Christian, Buddhist, Atheist or whatever!

Please see the Web site for the Alliance for the Separation of School and State at www.sepschool.org and sign the Proclamation of Separation of School and State if you agree!” 

Article found at http://www.homeschoolchristian.com/Position/Charter.html

 

I have been praying for direction in this area and God has led me to the conclusion that I am not willing to give up my freedoms as a Christian to educate my kids with Christian curriculum.  It is really hard to give up money, even with some strings attached, when you can see some benefit to using it.  I honestly was willing, for a moment anyway, to jump through the few hoops they required at this time to help pay for the curriculum that I could not afford.  God has given me a strong sense that this is not a wise choice for my family and He will provide what He feels is necessary for the education of His children.  It may not be all that I am wishing for, but they certainly will not be lacking in Biblical training or other basic subjects. 

I need to daily remember that educating my kids is not all about Reading, Writing, and arithmetic that others might have you believe.  Of course those are important, but there is much more at stake in the lives of our children then covering all of the extra things that I would love to include like typing, Lego’s Mind Storm, Classes at our local Science Museum, Computer programming for middleschoolers, music lessons, sports, etc….

A great resource from R.C. Sproul Jr., on the subject of educating our kids, is a book I read last year.  I need to read it again just to remind me of my job and goals as a home educator.  It is titled “When You Rise Up: A Covenantal Approach to Homeschooling

If you think you cannot educate your kids at home, you need to pray for strength.  There are many options that don’t involve the government.  God is good and will provide for the needs of his children.  They may not be met in the way you think they should be met, but He is faithful.  He has only your best interest at heart.  He loves you so much that He will allow you to grow all the while giving you a helping hand to bear it.

Here is another great source of information at HSLDA’s website titled “Charter Schools: Look Before You Leap.”  Which concludes its article by stating, ” Every Christian parent being lured to a charter school by “free” services and money must seriously consider and understand the long-term consequences of his or her decision.
If we ask the government to provide what God has not ordained government to provide, we tell our children and the world around us that we do not believe our God is sufficient to meet all of our needs.” Find the full article here  http://www.hslda.org/courtreport/V18N1/V18N102.asp

Leave a Reply

