Job Jar

Well, we are into our first week of school and I can’t believe how many complaints the kids are dishing out about their school work.  So last night I was praying about how to teach my kids without me getting mad and sending them to the corner.  Then an idea popped into my head (no credit to myself of course) a job jar.  I got a tall glass jar and wrote small jobs on a bunch of pieces of paper. I folded them up tiny and popped them into the jar.  Every time the kids complained they had to pick a job.  I got my base boards washed in the kitchen, The mirror in the bathroom cleaned, the living room vacuumed, and a few other things.  I told them I hoped they kept complaining cause I had a lot of work to get done:) 

Lo and behold, the next day, the complaining almost ceased.  Wow, what a difference.  I just might have to use it for more than complaining about school work since it worked so well!

One Response

  1. *grin* I may just have to try that one when mine are a bit older. I LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

