Ignorance, Racism, Prejudice, or Childishness???

I was so sad for my daughter tonight when she told me about a conversation she had with a girl at the park. 

She got her first taste of racism tonight.  I didn’t hear this conversation, but Ramona told me about it when we got home.  She said a girl came up to her and asked…

Girl, “are you Japanese?”

Ramona, “No.”

Girl, “are you half Japanese?”

Ramona, “yes.”

Girl, “Do you speak Chinese?”

Ramona, “A little.”

Girl, “Do you speak Spanish?”

Ramona, “No.”

Then Ramona hears the girl say to her friends, “I think Japanese people are weird.”

My heart broke for my sweet daughter.  Ramona shook it off like it was no big deal.  She didn’t seem to care what the other girl thought.  I didn’t quite know what to say.  I didn’t want to make a big deal about it and go into the whole ignorance thing.  I didn’t want to make it worse by giving her more information than she can comprehend.  It didn’t make her feel less of herself.  I guess this is one of the reasons God has given this girl a fighting spirit.  She won’t let the thoughts of others shape who she thinks she is.  She is firm in the knowledge that God made her in His image and nothing and no one can tell her different. 

I think we will pray for the little girl tom. morning at breakfast.  We’ll pray that God will change her heart so that she won’t say hurtful things to others.  It will also be important for Ramona to see that we pray for those who hurt us and forgive others as Christ has forgiven us.

Leave a Reply

