A Staycation From Reality

I took a long awaited vacation last week to a small quaint town located somewhere in the NW.  I enjoyed every minute of my time away in this small but lively town with all of its quirky residents. 

I met Mark and Pam, some monks, a girl named Brooke who eventually married Joshua.  Then later in the week I met Kai, Caroline, Jamar and Hannah.  Where was this pleasant quaint town that I couldn’t get enough of? 

Why Lumby of course!

My “staycation” from reality took place between the pages of three books.  I stole away a few minutes here, an hour there, until I had consumed all three titles.  It was easy and thoroughly enjoyable reading. 

I haven’t read a good book for leisure in awhile and thought it was about time.  I picked up three books in a series by Gail Fraser the other day at church and am so glad I did. 

The first book is called, “Lumby Lines” the second is called,”” Stealing Lumby” the third is called, “Lumby’s Bounty” and -wow, I just found out there is a fourth in the series called, “The Promise of Lumby.”  I am so excited. Check ’em out at www.lumbybooks.com

Some people may think leisure reading is a waste of time, but I came back from my “staycation” revived.  I can’t wait to pick up the fourth and get swept away to another reality… even if it is only in my imagination.

One Response

  1. That sounds like fun. I do that sometimes too, but not as often as I’d like. I’m reading a non-fiction book called Guns, Germs, and Steel. It’s now a PBS mini-series (but we got the book a few years ago). The first was Monday night. Very well done.

Leave a Reply

