Homeschool Curriculum Overload

I don’t know about you, but I am on curriculum overload!  I think I have narrowed everthing down and now I’m left with figuring out how to pay for it. 

I keep going back and forth on our history.  I was using SOTW for all four years, but changed to VP this year and supplemented with SOTW, but am steering away from VP because of the lack of interesting book suggestions. 

I strongly believe that for kids to be able to grasp the information they are learning,it has to incooperate more than one sense. 

I found a curriculum called Winter Promise that I really like.  It follows the Charlotte Mason (living books) style of learning which I love so much, but it costs and arm and a leg.  Even if I buy all of the books used, I am still putting out more than I want to.  Then there is the Mystery of History that I just can’t stop thinking about.  I am really tempted to just go with that one.  I will probably go with more than one program and make it fit our needs.  They are all excellent programs, but I can’t seem to be satisfied with just one. 

I’ve been praying about my choices and God keeps laying on my heart that it doesn’t matter which curriculum I choose for any particular subject as long as I ground my kids in His word and make sure that I am spending a bunch of time glorifying him through all of our studies. 

What purpose would it serve if I gave my kids the best education that I possilby could without helping them ‘build’ their ‘house’ on the Rock!  God want s their hearts more than he wants their heads.  I need to be more concerned with what their hearts are learning than what their heads are learning. 

The prayer I pray often is that God would help me provide my kids with the things that He wants them to learn so that He can turn them into the people He wants them to be.

My hearts desire is to raise these children that God has entrusted to my care into children who will glorify the Almighty in everything they do.  I want them to serve God in everything they do.  I want them to be able to speak wisely abut the things of God.  I want them to be able to testify to others that He is the one who can take care of all of their needs.  I want them to be able to be “standing stones” for a nation that has turned their backs on God.

How can I raise children like this?  I can answer that with one simple word.

PRAYER!!!!

God loves my children.  He wants to be able to use

these children to tell others about the good news of Jesus Christ.   

That kind of learning takes place within the pages of one book.  That book is the word of God-The Bible. 

Read ‘When You Rise Up’ by RC Sproul Jr. and you just might change your mind about what raising and educating children at home should look like.  I have read this several times and it is time to visit it once more.  It is a yearly ritual to help ground me in my decisions about homeschooling my kids and what is most important.

2 Responses

  1. If you’re looking for interesting history books and activities, I’d definitely try the WinterPromise. We’re using their American Story 1 this year and love it. Plenty of read alouds, books he reads himself and activities rather than just narration keep my son engaged. He gets so involved in some of the shorter books he reads them all at once and surprises himself when he gets to the end. We’ll be doing AS2 this fall. We did First Favorites vol 1 from Veritas Press for literature last year (first grade) and had a lot of fun as well. it really helped spark a love of reading which the WinterPromise is continuing. However, I agree that VP’s other selections didn’t sound very interesting or engaging.

  2. i am in the same place you are! trying to figure out what to do is such a pain!! there are too many choices – i am struggling with my father’s world, winter promise and a little of this and a little of that!!! God will bless whatever decision we make as long as we make it with his blessing and the fact that we are teaching him in all of it!!!

Leave a Reply

